TASAI Helps Chart Direction for DRC Seed Sector Reform

 In collaboration development partner ELAN RDC, TASAI has developed a 12-point strategy for the DRC seed sector.

Focusing on four key provinces – North Kivu, South Kivu, Haut-Katanga and Lualaba and supported by the African Development Bank’s Technologies for African Agricultural Transformation (TAAT) program, parts of the stakeholder supported strategy are already being implemented. Strengthening Provincial Seed Councils, helping local seed producers obtain licenses for maize hybrid varieties , and updating the National Variety Catalogue are steps TASAI research recommends that stakeholders are actively pursuing. TASAI’s research team in DRC continues to support implementation of these steps, working closely with SENASEM, the National Seed Service.

Mr. Cherif Alimasi Bilubi, Deputy Director of Cabinet in the Ministry of Agriculture in DRC responding to questions from media during TASAI meeting in Kinshasa


DRC Seed Sector Stakeholders meet with TASAI team members in Kinshasa